Uh-Oh! I See a Nipple!

16 May

I spent most of my Saturday hanging out with Tiny Nephew.  You can see the before and after comparison of our day below.

I posted this picture on various social media accounts.  People responded.

But do you know what?  I didn’t get a single post asking me to cover up.  Facebook didn’t deem my body offensive (though it probably should have), so the picture was not censored.  In fact, the overwhelming consensus on this post is that it is “cute” and “precious” and “awwwwww”.

Today I saw a viral video of a female weather reporter being stopped in the middle of her live on-air report, so that she could be handed a cardigan to cover up.  It seems viewers were offended by her tight black dress.  Why?  Why is it okay for me to post topless pics of myself, but a fully-clothed woman is shamed by her employer on the air?  How is that okay?

Currently, I am expecting my first child, a daughter.  I’ve become much more attuned to the world she and my wife will face in the coming years.  Things I took for granted as a man are starting to trouble me.  I am beginning to understand my female friends a little better, and I share their indignation for how women are treated in our society.  There is a clear double-standard for how men and women should present themselves.  And it sucks.

“Never mind if your breasts are being used to nourish your baby; I have sexualized them in my mind, so go feed your kid on a public toilet! ”

“Don’t dress in a way that makes you feel empowered; that is threatening to me as a man, so cover up or prepare to be slut-shamed!”

But I am free to flash my nips to anyone I want, post them anywhere I want, and I’ve not heard a thing.

So how about it?  Anyone want to slut-shame me?

 

Leave a Reply

